spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ISS crew relocates docking adapter
Posted: Fri, Aug 31, 2007, 8:30 AM ET (1230 GMT)
ISS illustration (NASA) The crew of the International Space Station moved a docking adapter on the station's Unity module to make way for the arrival later this year of a new module. The ISS crew used the station's robotic arm to move the Pressurized Mating Adapter 3 (PMA-3) from a port on the left side of Unity to one on the bottom of the same module. The unbolting process, when several motorized bolts backed out to allow the adapter to detach, generated several alarms that delayed the move. Engineers on the ground were unable to determine the cause of the alarms, but concluded that they did not pose a problem for the move itself; no other problems were detected during the move. The move frees up the docking port for the Harmony docking node, which will be attached there temporarily during the STS-120 mission in October before moving to its permanent location next to the Destiny lab module.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Thursday, July 28
Does the Pentagon need a Space Acquisition Agency?
Space News — 8:15 pm ET (0015 GMT)
'Aquanauts' Study Space Living from Under the Sea
SPACE.com — 8:14 pm ET (0014 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list