spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Discovery rolled out to launch pad
Posted: Mon, Oct 1, 2007, 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)
STS-120: rollout (NASA/KSC) NASA rolled the space shuttle Discovery out to the launch pad on Sunday in advance of a mission scheduled for launch later this month. Discovery made the five-kilometer trip to pad 39A Sunday, leaving the Vehicle Assembly Building at 6:47 am EDT (1047 GMT) and arriving at the pad six and a half hours later. The rollout was scheduled for last week but was delayed to accommodate the replacement of hydraulic seals in a landing gear strut. Despite the delay, the mission is still scheduled for launch on its original launch date, October 23, although there is now little slack in the schedule in the event of additional problems during launch preparations. The STS-120 mission will deliver a new node module, Harmony, to the International Space Station as well as move a solar panel to its permanent location on the station's truss.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list