spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Wed, Oct 17, 2007, 9:19 PM ET (0119 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of GPS 2R-17 (USAF) A Delta 2 rocket placed the latest GPS navigation satellite into orbit Wednesday morning. The United Launch Alliance (ULA) Delta 2 7925 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida at 8:23 am EDT (1223 GMT) and released the GPS 2R-17 satellite into orbit just over an hour later. The satellite is the fourth in a series of modernized GPS satellites built by Lockheed Martin with an additional civil signal and anti-jamming capabilities. The next ULA launch is now scheduled for no earlier than mid-November, when the Delta 4 Heavy will lift off on its first operational mission, carrying the DSP-23 early warning satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Monday, July 16
A look behind the scenes at the Parker Solar Probe
Johns Hopkins University — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
MIT's 'Orbit Weaver' Turns Astronauts into Spiders
Motherboard — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
Hello, Crew Dragon: SpaceX inches closer to testing new manned capsule
Orlando Business Journal — 12:10 am ET (0410 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list