spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz lands off course
Posted: Sun, Oct 21, 2007, 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft returning from the International Space Station landed safety but over 300 kilometers from its intended target early Sunday. The Soyuz TMA-10 spacecraft, carrying Russian cosmonauts Fyodor Yurchikhin and Oleg Kotov and Malaysian guest cosmonaut Sheikh Muszaphar Shukor, undocked from the ISS at 3:14 am EDT (0714 GMT) Sunday. An apparent computer problem made the capsule to take a steeper than normal "ballistic" trajectory, causing the capsule to land about 340 kilometers west of the planned landing site in Kazakhstan at 6:36 am EDT (1036 GMT). While the descent subjected the crew to higher than normal g-forces, the three cosmonauts were reported to be in good health after landing. Yurchikhin and Kotov were returning to Earth after a six-month stint on the ISS, while Shukor, the first Malaysian in space, had flown to the station on the Soyuz TMA-11 mission earlier this month with Yurchikhin and Kotov's replacements.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list