spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: September 18
Posted: Wed, Sep 19, 2001, 12:19 AM ET (0419 GMT)
NASA's Deep Space 1 spacecraft is on track to make a flyby of Comet Borrelly Saturday evening, the space agency announced Tuesday. The spacecraft will pass 2,000 kilometers from the comet's nucleus at 6:30 pm EDT (2230 GMT) Saturday and collect images and other data, if all goes well. The flyby is considered to be "extra credit" for the spacecraft, launched in October 1998 on a one-year mission to test advanced technologies such as ion drives... NASA also confirmed Tuesday that September 21 is the launch date for "Kodiak Star", an Athena 1 rocket carrying several small satellites for NASA and the Defense Department. The launch was scheduled for September 17 but delayed after commercial flight restrictions enacted after last week's terrorist attacks prevented personnel from getting to the launch site in Kodiak, Alaska. The launch, scheduled for 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Sept. 22), is the second launch scheduled to take place Friday: a Taurus rocket is scheduled for launch earlier in the day from Vandenberg Air Force Base carrying the OrbView 4 commercial imaging satellite and NASA's QuickTOMS ozone monitoring satellite.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list