spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA to attempt ISS solar panel repair
Posted: Thu, Nov 1, 2007, 7:36 AM ET (1136 GMT)
STS-120: Torn solar panel (NASA) NASA has delayed a spacewalk planned to day to prepare for an attempted repair of a torn solar panel on the International Space Station. Thursday's EVA will now take place either Friday or Saturday, after engineers work out procedures to allow astronauts Scott Parazynski and Doug Wheelock to fix the panel, which tore in two placed while being extended on Tuesday. While the panel is still generating nearly 100 percent of its designed power, officials are concerned that the panel could be further damaged unless it's repaired now. Thursday's spacewalk was previously planned to further inspect a rotary joint that allows the solar arrays on part of the station to track the Sun; a check of the joint on Sunday revealed metallic debris in the joint, thought to be linked to vibrations in the joint during recent use.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 17
Sutherland spaceport could create 400 jobs and reverse population decline
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)
Virgin Orbit plans rocket launches from UK airport
CNET News.com — 12:12 am ET (0412 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list