spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Taurus launch declared failure, spacecraft feared lost
Posted: Fri, Sep 21, 2001, 8:12 PM ET (0012 GMT)
Taurus launch (Orbital file photo) A problem during the flight of a Taurus launch vehicle Friday afternoon has apparently led to the loss of its payload of two spacecraft. The Taurus lifted off on schedule at 2:49 pm EDT (1849 GMT) from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California. However, the booster appeared to veer off course for several seconds after jettisoning its first stage, raising concerns from observers that something had gone wrong. After a long period of silence, launch officials did confirm that there had been a problem during the first stage separation, and that while the booster was able to reorient itself, it was unlikely it was able to reach the required altitude and velocity. This means the spacecraft's payload, the OrbView-4 commercial remote sensing satellite and NASA's QuickTOMS ozone monitoring spacecraft, likely failed to reach orbit and reentered the Earth's atmosphere over the Indian Ocean. The booster also carried a payload of cremated remains for Celestis. The failure would be the first in six launches for the Taurus, operated by Orbital Sciences Corporation. An investigation into the failure is expected to begin immediately.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches classified satellite
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:35 PM ET (2235 GMT)

ESA seeks nearly $14 billion over three years
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)

InSight makes progress with heat flow probe
Posted: Sat, Oct 19 6:33 PM ET (2233 GMT)

news links
Sunday, October 20
Getting Water From Waste In Space
Forbes.com — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Waste of Space
Los Angeles Review of Books — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
Study: Male mice can breed even after visits to outer space
Asahi Shimbun — 9:23 am ET (1323 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list