spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Radar problem delays Kodiak Star launch
Posted: Sat, Sep 22, 2001, 11:44 PM ET (0344 GMT)
Kodiak Launch Complex (Alaska Aerospace) A problem with a tracking radar scrubbed the launch of an Athena rocket Saturday evening. The Athena 1 was scheduled for launch at 9 pm EDT (0100 GMT Sunday) on the "Kodiak Star" mission from the Kodiak Launch Complex in Alaska, but the countdown was stopped at the T-20 minute mark after problems developed with a tracking radar in Cordova, Alaska. Launch officials decided to scrub the launch at around 10:30 pm EDT (0230 GMT) when it became clear the radar would not be fixed before the two-hour launch window closed. No new launch date has been set, but weather, which delayed a launch attempt Friday, is expected to worsen by Sunday. The Athena 1 carries four spacecraft: the Starshine 3 satellite for NASA and three small spacecraft sponsored by the Defense Department.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)

news links
Saturday, August 17
Florida's Space Coast is booming with commercial activity
WFTV Orlando — 10:34 am ET (1434 GMT)
Northrop Grumman setting up shop inside NASA's VAB
WOFL-TV Orlando — 10:33 am ET (1433 GMT)
Virgin Galactic Unveils Its New Space Base, but No Flights Yet
Bloomberg News — 10:29 am ET (1429 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list