spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta launches Italian satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 9, 2007, 10:47 AM ET (1547 GMT)
Delta 2 launch of COSMO-SkyMed 2 (ULA) A Delta 2 successfully launched an Italian remote sensing satellite on Saturday evening after several days of delays. The Delta 2 7420-10 lifted off during its one-second launch window at 9:31 pm EST Saturday (0231 GMT Sunday) and placed the COSMO-SkyMed 2 satellite into Sun-synchronous orbit. The launch had originally been scheduled for Wednesday but was delayed by poor weather, which also postponed a Friday launch; Thursday's launch was scrubbed to repair insulation on the launch vehicle. COSMO-SkyMed 2 is the second in a series of four radar imagery satellites built by Thales Alenia Space for the Italian space agency ASI and the Italian Ministry of Defense. The first satellite was launched in June, also on a Delta 2 from Vandenberg. The third COSMO-SkyMed satellite will also be launched on a Delta 2, in the second half of 2008. The fourth COSMO-SkyMed satellite will be launched in 2009; no launch contract for that mission has been announced.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin conducts New Shepard test flight
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

Ariane 5 launches communications satellites
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Soyuz returns three ISS crew to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 21 9:36 AM ET (1336 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
NASA Tests Mars Rocket Booster
Voice of America — 7:42 pm ET (2342 GMT)
NASA travels among the stars at Essence Fest 2016 in New Orleans
New Orleans Times-Picayune — 7:42 pm ET (2342 GMT)
NASA's Juno spacecraft will finally reach Jupiter this Monday
New York Daily News — 7:41 pm ET (2341 GMT)
Event horizon ringing damped by unstable space-time
Ars Technica — 7:39 pm ET (2339 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list