spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


News briefs: September 25
Posted: Tue, Sep 25, 2001, 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)
SpaceDev announced Tuesday that it has won a contract worth up to $2.2 million. The San Diego-based aerospace company said the contract was for a "proprietary research program" and did not disclose the nature of the work nor the entity that issued the contract... The second significant solar flare in as many days was recorded early Tuesday. An M8 flare was spotted at 12:40 am EDT (0440 GMT) from the same sunspot region that generated a larger X2.6-class flare Monday. Monday's flare forced a three-day postponement in the launch of an Athena rocket from Alaska; the flare is also expected to generate major auroral events starting Tuesday night... The International Astronautical Congress will take place as scheduled next month in Toulouse, France, despite recent events, conference organizers said Tuesday. Neither recent terrorist attacks nor an unrelated explosion at a fertilizer plant in Toulouse September 21 will delay the 52nd annual meeting, scheduled for October 1-5.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz sends new crew to ISS
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:06 PM ET (2206 GMT)

NASA selects winners in CLPS competition
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:04 PM ET (2204 GMT)

Rocket launches Russian military satellites
Posted: Tue, Dec 4 5:02 PM ET (2202 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, December 11
Is Canada’s space program slipping out of orbit?
Macleans — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
MILO Institute launches a new model for space exploration
Arizona State Univ. — 6:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
CNES lists Franco-Chinese space programme goals
Air & Cosmos International — 6:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Luxembourg: watch this space !
Delano — 6:17 am ET (1117 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list