spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Feb. 7 tentative date for shuttle launch
Posted: Fri, Jan 11, 2008, 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
STS-122: logo (NASA) Shuttle managers have set February 7 as the tentative date for the launch of the shuttle Atlantis, assuming repairs to the shuttle's external tank are completed as planned. NASA had previously announced a launch date of no earlier than January 24th, but admitted at the time that everything had to go perfectly to allow a launch on that date. The new launch date is dependent on completing repairs to electrical connectors that caused erroneous readings from engine cutoff sensors when the tank was filled with liquid hydrogen during two launch attempts and a tanking test in December. NASA must also discuss launch plans with the Russians, who have planned to launch a Progress cargo spacecraft to the ISS at the same time. If the date is confirmed, it would be almost exactly two months after the original date for the launch of mission STS-122, which is carrying a European lab module to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two broadcasting satellites
Posted: Thu, May 28 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Gov. Ige Does Right by the Mountain
Honolulu Civil Beat — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
Hawaii's Thirty Meter Telescope protesters vow to stay, despite construction resuming
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 6:07 am ET (1007 GMT)
How the Space Race Altered Art in the Americas
Hyperallergic — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list