spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Titan 4 launches classified military satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 5, 2001, 6:59 PM ET (2259 GMT)
Titan 4B launch (Lockheed Martin file photo) A Titan 4B booster sucecssfully launched a classified military payload late Friday. The Titan 4B lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 5:21 pm EDT (2121 GMT). Air Force officials said that the Titan's payload sucecssfully separated from the booster nine and a half minutes after liftoff. The identity of the payload has not been revealed by the Air Force, but independent analysts speculate that the Titan carried an advanced reconnaissance satellite. The launch had been scheduled for Monday but was delayed four days by a series of minor technical problems with the launch vehicle and support equipment.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list