spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches NRO satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 11, 2001, 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)
Atlas 2AS launches NRO spacecraft An Atlas 2 booster successfully launched a classified satellite for the National Reconnaissance Office Wednesday night. The Atlas 2AS, codenamed "Aquila", lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 10:32 pm EDT (0232 GMT Thursday) and placed its payload into a geosynchronous orbit 29 minutes later. The NRO did not provide any information about the spacecraft launched Wednesday, but outside observers believe that it is either a signals intelligence satellite or a data relay spacecraft. The launch is the second classified launch in less than a week, after a Titan 4B launched what it believed to be an advanced reconnaissance satellite from Vandenberg Air Force Base on Friday. Wednesday's launch was the fourth this year, and the 58th consecutive successful Atlas launch dating back to 1993.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia plans to resume crewed Soyuz launches in December
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)

China launches Beidou satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:59 AM ET (1359 GMT)

Dawn mission declared over
Posted: Sun, Nov 4 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, November 13
Comment: Is Rocket Lab even a New Zealand company?
Newstalk ZB (New Zealand) — 6:34 am ET (1134 GMT)
Rocket Lab Debuts Low-Cost Rocket in First Commercial Launch
Popular Mechanics — 6:33 am ET (1133 GMT)
Rocket-maker ArianeGroup to cut 2,300 jobs
AFP — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)
Fleet Space sends Australia's first commercial mini-satellites into orbit
Business News Australia — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list