spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta launches commercial imaging satellite
Posted: Thu, Oct 18, 2001, 5:09 PM ET (2109 GMT)
QuickBird satellite illustration (DigitalGlobe) A Delta 2 booster successfully launched a commercial high-resolution imaging spacecraft Thursday afternoon. The Delta 2 lifted off from Vandenberg Air Force Base, California, at 2:51 pm EDT (1851 GMT). Its payload, the QuickBird commercial imaging satellite, separated from the booster in a sun-synchronous low Earth orbit 61 minutes after liftoff. QuickBird will be used by DigitalGlobe, a company formerly known as EarthWatch, to provide images of the Earth at resolutions of up to 0.6 meters per pixel, the sharpest images commercially available. The launch is the sixth this year for the Delta 2, and the first commercial launch for the Delta this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 20
The new space race
The Economist — 9:47 am ET (1447 GMT)
No launch for Rocket Lab today
Hawke's Bay (NZ) Today — 9:44 am ET (1444 GMT)
Rocket Lab forced to abort launch again
NZCity — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)
Rocket Lab second test called off for today
Radio New Zealand — 9:43 am ET (1443 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list