spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

Countdown begins for shuttle launch
Posted: Mon, Mar 9, 2009, 12:51 PM ET (1651 GMT)
STS-119: logo (NASA) The countdown for Wednesday night's launch of the shuttle Discovery on a mission to the International Space Station started as planned Sunday evening. The countdown for the launch of STS-119 began at 7 pm EDT (2300 GMT) Sunday. Liftoff is scheduled for 9:20 pm EDT Wednesday (0120 GMT Thursday), with excellent weather forecast for the launch and no major technical issues being addressed in the countdown. STS-119 will install the S6 truss segment on the station and deploy its solar arrays, and also exchange one member of the station's crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Tuesday, April 21
Space lawyers actually exist
Lawyers Weekly — 5:42 am ET (0942 GMT)
I’m not ready to move to Mars; are you?
St. George (UT) Daily Spectrum — 5:40 am ET (0940 GMT)
Audacity in the dust
Airport Business — 5:38 am ET (0938 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list