spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches defense weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Oct 18, 2009, 9:11 PM ET (0111 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of DMSP F18 (ULA) An Atlas 5 launched a military weather satellite Sunday morning from California. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from a foggy Space Launch Complex-3 at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California at 12:12 pm EDT (1612 GMT) and placed the DMSP F18 satellite into a Sun-synchronous orbit 18 minutes later. The Lockheed Martin-built spacecraft is latest in a series of Defense Meteorological Satellite Program spacecraft that provide weather data for the Defense Department, replacing one that was launched six years ago.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russia launches astronomy satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:18 PM ET (2018 GMT)

Vega launch of UAE satellite fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:17 PM ET (2017 GMT)

NASA reassigns leadership of exploration programs
Posted: Sun, Jul 14 4:16 PM ET (2016 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 16
Galileo sat-nav system still without service
BBC — 7:21 am ET (1121 GMT)
Europe's GPS system stops working
The Independent — 7:20 am ET (1120 GMT)
Galileo’s initial services rocky patch continues
GPS World — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list