spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Clouds delay shuttle launch
Posted: Sun, Feb 7, 2010, 11:06 AM ET (1606 GMT)
STS-130: logo (NASA) Sunday morning's launch of the space shuttle Endeavour was postponed because of cloud cover, pushing the launch back to Monday. A layer of low, thick clouds developed overnight, violating weather criteria for a shuttle launch and thus postponing the scheduled 4:39 am EST (0939 GMT) launch. The launch is now scheduled for 4:14 am EST (0914 GMT) Monday, with a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather. The shuttle is carrying a new module, Tranquility, that is the last major US component to be added to the station. The shuttle launch delay will also push back at least a day Tuesday's scheduled launch of an Atlas 5 from Cape Canaveral carrying a NASA solar observatory.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Saturday, July 21
Welcome to the Era of Orbital Publicity Stunts
Wired News — 4:08 am ET (0808 GMT)
ULA hopes to launch more affordable rocket
WAFF-TV — 4:06 am ET (0806 GMT)
Boeing, SpaceX delays may mean 'gap' in access to space station
Huntsville Times — 4:05 am ET (0805 GMT)
Presidential Message on Space Exploration Day
White House — 4:01 am ET (0801 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list