spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Fri, May 28, 2010, 8:12 AM ET (1212 GMT)
Delta 4 launch of GPS 2F-1 (ULA) A Delta 4 launched the first of a new generation of GPS satellites late Thursday after several earlier attempts were scrubbed. The Delta 4 Medium+ (4,2) lifted off on schedule at 11:00 pm EDT Thursday (0300 GMT Friday) from Space Launch Complex 37 at Cape Canaveral and placed the GPS 2F-1 satellite into medium Earth orbit about three and a half hours later. The launch had been scheduled for last week but was postponed by technical issues with the satellite and launcher. The spacecraft is the first in the Block 2F series of GPS satellites, built by Boeing, feature a new civil signal, increased accuracy, enhanced signal power for better resistance to jamming attempts, and a 12-year service life. The launch was also the first time a GPS satellite has been launched on an EELV; GPS satellites had previously been launched for many years on Delta 2 rockets, which are now being phased out.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list