spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Japanese asteroid probe returning to Earth
Posted: Tue, Jun 8, 2010, 6:01 AM ET (1001 GMT)
Hayabusa spacecraft illus. (JAXA) A Japanese spacecraft that overcame numerous technical problems to study an asteroid is on final approach to return to Earth this weekend. Hayabusa adjusted its trajectory slightly earlier this month, putting the spacecraft on course for a reentry over Australia on June 13. The spacecraft carries a sample return capsule designed to land at the Woomera range in Australia. Scientists hope that capsule carries samples from the asteroid Itokawa, which the spacecraft visited in 2005. However, the spacecraft sample collection mechanism didn't work as planned, although scientists hope it was able to collect some dust or larger pieces of the asteroid. That problem was one of many that Hayabusa suffered during its mission, including thruster problems and communications outages. If successful, though, Hayabusa would be the first mission to return a sample from an asteroid.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Early Mars had large ocean
Posted: Fri, Mar 6 6:23 AM ET (1123 GMT)

Short circuit halts Mars rover operations
Posted: Thu, Mar 5 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)

UK narrows list of potential spaceport sites
Posted: Wed, Mar 4 6:26 AM ET (1126 GMT)

news links
Friday, March 6
NASA's Dawn Spacecraft Reaches Dwarf Planet Ceres
Forbes.com — 7:04 pm ET (0004 GMT)
MSU’s Q&A with Neil deGrasse Tyson
Great Falls (MT) Tribune — 7:03 pm ET (0003 GMT)
Scanning Earth, saving lives
ESA — 7:01 pm ET (0001 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list