spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rosetta flies past asteroid Lutetia
Posted: Sun, Jul 11, 2010, 12:18 PM ET (1618 GMT)
Lutetia imaged by Rosetta (ESA) ESA's Rosetta spacecraft flew past the asteroid Lutetia on Saturday, the largest asteroid to date visited by a spacecraft. The spacecraft made its closest approach to the asteroid, at a distance of 3,162 kilometers, at 12:10 pm EDT (1610 GMT) Saturday. Images returned by the spacecraft revealed an elongated, cratered body about 130 kilometers lin diameter on its longest axis. Scientists believe the asteroid is a metal-rich body, although previous groundbased observations have revealed characteristics similar to C-type primitive bodies. The flyby is the latest milestone for the mission, launched in 2004, whose ultimate destination is the comet Churyumov-Gerasimenko. Rosetta will rendezvous with the comet in late 2014 and deploy a spacecraft to land on the comet's nucleus.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list