spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Proton launches Sirius XM satellite
Posted: Fri, Oct 15, 2010, 6:59 AM ET (1059 GMT)
A Proton rocket successfully launched the latest spacecraft for satellite radio operator Sirius XM early Friday. The Proton M lifted off from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 2:53 pm EDT Thursday (1853 GMT Thursday, 12:53 am local time Friday) and released the XM 5 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit a little over nine hours later. The spacecraft, a Space Systems/Loral 1300-series spacecraft, weighed nearly 6,000 kilograms at launch. The spacecraft will eventually be located at 85.2 degrees west in GEO and serve as an on-orbit spare for existing spacecraft providing satellite radio programming to customers in North America. The launch was the ninth Proton mission of 2010, six of which, including this one, were commercial.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

Delta 4 launch rescheduled for Monday
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 1:56 PM ET (1756 GMT)

GAO report warns SLS first launch date could slip
Posted: Fri, Jul 25 8:42 AM ET (1242 GMT)

news links
Sunday, July 27
Delta IV rocket launch scrubbed for fourth time
My News 13 Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
Delta rocket scrubbed due to severe weather
WESH-TV Orlando — 9:48 am ET (1348 GMT)
To infinity and beyond: quest for resources enters its space age
The National (UAE) — 9:45 am ET (1345 GMT)
Plea to make Moray spaceport bid priority
Aberdeen (Scot.) Press and Journal — 9:43 am ET (1343 GMT)
NASA Exec Says, 'Boldly Go!'
EE Times — 9:41 am ET (1341 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list