spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Genesis completes maneuver
Posted: Sat, Nov 17, 2001, 5:08 AM ET (1008 GMT)
Genesis spacecraft illustration (NASA) NASA's Genesis spacecraft entered orbit around the Earth-Sun L1 point Friday, project managers reported. Genesis fired its thrusters for 268 seconds starting at 2:03 pm EST (1903 GMT), successfully entering a halo orbit around L1. Genesis will spend the next two and a half years there collecting and analyzing the solar wind. Solar wind collection is scheduled to begin late this month. In early 2004 Genesis will leave the L1 point, flying by Earth in September 2004. The spacecraft will release a return capsule carrying the samples; the capsule is designed to be captured in midair over Utah.
Related Links:
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Friday, June 22
MetService on site for planned Rocket Lab launch
Scoop.co.nz — 5:44 am ET (0944 GMT)
NZ space company prepares for launch
NEWS.com.au — 5:43 am ET (0943 GMT)
Falcon Heavy Certified For U.S. Air Force Flights
Aviation Week — 5:41 am ET (0941 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list