spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


GSLV launch fails
Posted: Sat, Dec 25, 2010, 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)
GSLV F06 launch failure (The Hindu) In another major setback for the Indian space agency ISRO, its Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) failed shortly after launch Saturday. The GSLV lifted off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 5:34 am EST (1034 GMT, 4:34 pm local time) Saturday, carrying the GSAT-5P communications satellite. However, about 45 seconds after liftoff the rocket veered off course and was destroyed. ISRO officials said that it lost control of one of the rocket's four strap-on boosters, leading to the loss of the vehicle. The failure is the second consecutive one for the GSLV, India's largest launch vehicle, after an indigenously-built upper stage failed on an April launch. The GSAT-5P communications satellite was intended to provide TV and other communications services for India using a payload of C-band transponders.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Cassini mission ends with a plunge into Saturn's atmosphere
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 9:06 AM ET (1306 GMT)

ESA signs first Ariane 6 launch contract
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:54 AM ET (1254 GMT)

Soyuz launches new crew to the ISS
Posted: Sat, Sep 16 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 19
Northrop Grumman to acquire rival Orbital in $9.2bn deal
Financial Times — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman to buy aerospace manufacturer Orbital ATK
Washington Post — 6:35 am ET (1035 GMT)
Northrop Grumman acquires Orbital ATK in $9.2B deal
Flightglobal.com — 6:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
Global security challenges spur $7.8B Northrop, Orbital merger
Washington Business Journal — 6:31 am ET (1031 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list