spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Delta 2 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Tue, Jan 30, 2001, 2:37 PM ET (1937 GMT)
Delta 2 launch A Boeing Delta 2 booster successfully launched an Air Force Navstar GPS satellite early Tuesday. The rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida on schedule at 2:43 am EST (0743 GMT) and placed into an elliptical transfer orbit the GPS 2R-7 spacecraft. The spacecraft will enter service next month, joining 28 other GPS satellites in orbit that provide high-precision navigation information. The launch was the seventh in a series of 21 planned Block 2R GPS satellites, and it was also the first of 11 Delta 2 launches scheduled for 2001.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Atlas 5 launches SBIRS satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:48 PM ET (2348 GMT)

Commercial crew providers may not be certified until 2020
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:46 PM ET (2346 GMT)

Long March 11 launches smallsats
Posted: Sat, Jan 20 6:44 PM ET (2344 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 22
Rocket Lab to rival US launches: Beck
NZCity — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Mahia has lift-off
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Rocket launch monitored from Invercargill's inner city
Stuff.co.nz — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
Rocket Lab leads the way in new space race
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:41 am ET (1041 GMT)
ERAU Hosts Fourth Annual Space Traffic Management Conference
Embry-Riddle Avion — 5:40 am ET (1040 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list