spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Astronauts complete final shuttle spacewalk
Posted: Sat, May 28, 2011, 9:32 AM ET (1332 GMT)
STS-134: EVA #4 (NASA) Two astronauts successfully completed the final planned spacewalk of the space shuttle era on Friday. Mike Fincke and Greg Chamitoff spent seven hours and 24 minutes outside the International Space Station on Friday, wrapping up the fourth and final spacewalk of the STS-134 mission at 7:39 am EDT (1139 GMT) Friday. The two helped install a sensor boom originally developed to scan the orbiter for damage while in orbit on the station, where it will remain to serve as an instrument extension of the station's Canadarm2. The two also performed work on the Dextre robotic manipulator on the station. During the EVA the astronauts passed the 1,000-hour mark in space station spacewalks for assembly and maintenance. The spacewalk, the last of the STS-134 mission, is also the last expected to be associated with a shuttle mission as none are planned for the final shuttle mission in July, STS-135.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Curiosity detects methane "spikes" in Martian atmosphere
Posted: Wed, Dec 17 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)

Proton launches Russian communications satellite
Posted: Tue, Dec 16 6:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)

NASA receives $18 billion in 2015 spending bill
Posted: Tue, Dec 16 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, December 17
India to launch its largest rocket GSLV Mark-III today
Deccan Herald — 10:19 pm ET (0319 GMT)
Today’s GSLV launch, a critical test for the Indian space agency
The Hindu Business Line — 9:14 pm ET (0214 GMT)
Isro to test-fire its heaviest rocket, Mk III, today
Hindustan Times — 9:14 pm ET (0214 GMT)
Isro readies for launch of India's heaviest rocket
The Times of India — 9:14 pm ET (0214 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list