spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Countdown begins for shuttle launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 27, 2001, 1:49 PM ET (1849 GMT)
STS-108 patch The countdown for Thursday night's launch of the shuttle Endeavour started on schedule Monday night. Endeavour is scheduled to launch on mission STS-108 at 7:41 pm EST Thursday (0041 GMT Friday) from pad 39B at the Kennedy Space Center. Latest weather forecasts call for a 60 percent chance of acceptable weather conditions at the time of launch. The primary purpose of STS-108 is to deliver the Expedition Four crew of Yuri Onufrienko, Carl Walz, and Daniel Bursch to the station, and to return to Earth the Expedition Three crew of Frank Culbertson, Vladimir Dezhurov, and Mikhail Turin, who are currently on the station. Two members of the STS-108 crew, Linda Godwin and Daniel Tani, will perform an EVA while Endeavour is docked to the station to do several miscellaneous tasks. The 10 day, 19 hour mission will end with a landing at the Kennedy Space Center on the afternoon of December 10.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz docks with ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Curiosity detects organic molecules and methane cycle on Mars
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:10 AM ET (1510 GMT)

Northrop Grumman completes acquisition of Orbital ATK
Posted: Sun, Jun 10 11:09 AM ET (1509 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 18
Business time at rocket lab
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 5:29 am ET (0929 GMT)
'Read With Me' Author Explores Private Space Travel
Northern Public Radio — 5:26 am ET (0926 GMT)
Forget Galileo – UK space sector should look to young stars instead
Institution of Mechanical Engineers — 5:23 am ET (0923 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list