spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Tue, Jan 10, 2012, 9:20 AM ET (1420 GMT)
Long March 4B launch of Ziyuan 3 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese remote sensing satellite into orbit Monday for the first launch of 2012. The Long March 4B rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 10:17 pm EST Sunday (0317 GMT, 11:17 am Beijing time Monday) and placed the Ziyuan 3 satellite into a 500-kilometer sun-synchronous orbit. The satellite, weighing 2,650 kilograms, will provide high-resolution images for civilian applications, according to Chinese reports. The rocket also carried as a secondary payload the VesselSat2 satellite, a 63-kilogram spacecraft built by Luxembourg company LuxSpace. The satellite will be used by American company ORBCOMM to augment its network of satellites that relay signals for the Automatic Identification Service ship-tracking system.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 10
ViaSat plans global satellite broadband
San Diego Union-Tribune — 5:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Blue planet blues
Oxford Univ. Press — 5:42 am ET (1042 GMT)
UAE on track for Mars Mission 2021
Khaleej Times — 5:39 am ET (1039 GMT)
Buzz Aldrin: A global statesman for space
Starkville (MS) Daily News — 5:38 am ET (1038 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list