spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


OHB/SSTL team wins latest Galileo contract
Posted: Sat, Feb 4, 2012, 7:21 AM ET (1221 GMT)
Galileo satellite illustration (OHB System) Two smaller European satellite manufacturers have won a contract to build the next batch of Galileo navigation satellites, beating out once again a European aerospace giant. A team led by Germany's OHB-System and the UK's Surrey Satellite Technology Ltd. (SSTL) won the contract awarded by ESA on Thursday to build the next set of eight Galileo satellites. The same team won the contract to build the first 14 operational satellites in 2010. In both cases OHB/SSTL bid beat out one from EADS Astrium. ESA also awarded a contract to EADS to modify the Ariane 5 rocket, allowing it to launch four Galileo satellites at a time, for launches planned in 2014 and 2015.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Sunday, May 29
NRO delays launch of Delta IV Heavy
Florida Today — 8:51 am ET (1251 GMT)
SpaceX lands another rocket after satellite delivery
WESH-TV Orlando — 8:50 am ET (1250 GMT)
Thaicom 8 successfully launched
The Nation (Thailand) — 8:49 am ET (1249 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list