spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Mon, Apr 30, 2012, 5:17 AM ET (0917 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of Compass M3 and M4 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed two Beidou navigation satellites into orbit on Monday. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 4:50 pm EDT Sunday (2050 GMT Sunday, 4:50 am Beijing time Monday) and placed two Beidou-2 satellites into medium Earth orbits. The satellites will be used as part of China's Beidou satellite navigation system, which currently provides satellite navigation services for China and plans to expand to global coverage by the end of the decade. The launch marked the first time that a single Long March rocket placed two Beidou satellites into orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA selects Boeing and SpaceX for commercial crew contracts
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:32 PM ET (0132 GMT)

NASA report criticizes management of NEO program office
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 9:16 PM ET (0116 GMT)

ESA picks comet landing site
Posted: Tue, Sep 16 7:29 AM ET (1129 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, September 16
Five takeaways from NASA’s commercial crew decision
Houston Chronicle — 8:08 pm ET (0008 GMT)
3 Things to Know About NASA’s New Private Space Contracts
Popular Mechanics — 8:06 pm ET (0006 GMT)
NASA awards space contracts to Boeing and SpaceX
Washington Post — 8:05 pm ET (0005 GMT)
Yeast, the final frontier
Univ. of British Columbia — 8:04 pm ET (0004 GMT)
NASA taps SpaceX, Boeing for ISS taxis
Waco (TX) Tribune-Herald — 8:02 pm ET (0002 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list