spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

China launches mapping satellite
Posted: Mon, May 7, 2012, 5:51 AM ET (0951 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of Tianhui 1-02 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese mapping satellite into orbit on Sunday. A Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 3:10 am EDT (0710 GMT, 3:10 pm Beijing time) Sunday and placed the Tianhui 1-02 satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The satellite will provide medium-resolution stereo imagery for use in mapping and other applications. The satellite is the second such mapping satellite, after the launch of the first Tianhui satellite in 2010.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list