spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Falcon 9 launch scrubbed at last second
Posted: Sat, May 19, 2012, 2:41 PM ET (1841 GMT)
Falcon 9 on pad before COTS C2+ launch (NASA/KSC) The launch of a privately-developed cargo spacecraft on a test flight to the International Space Station was scrubbed in the final second of the countdown early Saturday because of an engine problem. The Falcon 9 was to lift off from Cape Canaveral at 4:55 am EDT (0855 GMT) but computers stopped the launch at T-0.5 seconds, after the rocket's nine first-stage engines ignited but before liftoff. SpaceX officials said computers detected a "slightly high" combustion chamber pressure on engine 5, triggering the abort. Engineers will examine the engine to see if it can be readied for the next available launch window at 3:44 am EDT (0744 GMT) Tuesday. The rocket is carrying a Dragon cargo spacecraft on a test flight to maneuver around and berth with the ISS, allowing it, if successful, to make future cargo deliveries to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list