spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, May 27, 2012, 6:40 AM ET (1040 GMT)
Long MArch 3B launch of Chinasat 2A (Xinhua) China launched a satellite late Saturday for civil and possibly military communications. The Long March 3B rocket lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:56 am EDT (1556 GMT, 11:56 pm Beijing time) Saturday and placed the 5,200-kilogram Chinasat 2A satellite into a geosynchronous transfer orbit. According to Chinese officials the satellite will be used for relaying radio and television programming and "broadband multimedia transmissions", but Western observers believe the satellite is also, or instead, used for military communications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list