spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches Galileo satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 13, 2012, 10:41 AM ET (1441 GMT)
Soyuz launch of Galileo IOV-2 satellites (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket launched a pair of Galileo navigation satellites for Europe on Friday, allowing on-orbit testing of the planned system to begin. The Soyuz ST-B rocket lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 2:15 pm EDT (1815 GMT) Friday and released the two Galileo In Orbit Validation (IOV) satellites into medium Earth orbit three hours and 45 minutes later. The spacecraft join two other IOV satellites launched on a Soyuz almost exactly a year ago. ESA and the European Commission will use the four satellites to test and fine-tune the technologies needed for the full Galileo satellite navigation system. Europe plans to start launching the operational Galileo satellites next year, with 18 in orbit by late 2014, enough to begin to provide some navigation services. The full 30-satellite constellation will be in place by 2018.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 9
Vandenberg to launch rocket early morning of Feb. 10
Pacific Coast Business Times — 9:19 pm ET (0219 GMT)
Vandenberg Prepares for Rocket Launch
Santa Barbara (CA) Independent — 9:19 pm ET (0219 GMT)
Launch weather officer triples her 15 minutes of fame
US Air Force — 9:19 pm ET (0219 GMT)
NASA proposes X-plane revival with supersonic, subsonic designs
Flightglobal.com — 9:16 pm ET (0216 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list