spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


South Korea scrubs KSLV launch again
Posted: Thu, Nov 29, 2012, 7:41 AM ET (1241 GMT)
KSLV on pad for 2nd launch (KARI) South Korean engineers scrubbed Thursday a second attempt to launch a rocket, citing technical problems with the rocket's second stage. The Korea Space Launch Vehicle (KSLV)-1 rocket, also known as Naro-1, was to launch from South Korea's launch site, the Naro Space Center, at 2 am EST (0700 GMT, 4 pm local time) Thursday, but the countdown was halted 17 minutes before the scheduled liftoff time. Officials said they postponed the launch after receiving "anomalous" signals from the thrust vector system in the rocket's upper stage. No new launch date has been set. A previous launch attempt late last month was also scrubbed because of a faulty seal in the rocket's Russian-built lower stage. Two previous KSLV-1 launches, in 2009 and 2010, both failed.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)

SpaceX preparing for Iridium return-to-flight launch
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:50 AM ET (1550 GMT)

Proton launch of EchoStar-21 delayed
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 10:49 AM ET (1549 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 20
Space junk mission leads 2017 rocket launches
CNN — 5:34 am ET (1034 GMT)
SpaceX to reopen legendary Kennedy launch site
Florida Politics — 5:32 am ET (1032 GMT)
UAE’s MBRSC to launch its Project Space Forum on 24 January
Spacewatch Middle East — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Belarus-China cooperation in space exploration praised
Belarusian Telegraph Agency — 5:27 am ET (1027 GMT)
Akatsuki returns from the dead
Boulder Weekly — 5:24 am ET (1024 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list