spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Soyuz launches French imaging satellite
Posted: Sun, Dec 2, 2012, 11:26 AM ET (1626 GMT)
Soyuz ST-A launch of Pleiades 1B (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket lifted off from French Guiana on Saturday night and placed a French imaging satellite into orbit. The Soyuz ST-A rocket lifted off from the European spaceport at Kourou, French Guiana, at 9:02 pm EST Saturday (0202 GMT Sunday) carrying the Pléiades 1B satellite. The rocket's Fregat upper stage released the satellite into its Sun-synchronous orbit 55 minutes after liftoff. The satellite, built by EADS Astrium with an imaging payload provided by Thales Alena Space, will provide high-resolution images for government and commercial users. The launch was delayed a day because of a technical issue with the launcher.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
news links
Tuesday, August 30
SETI’s alien signal? Don’t get too excited.
Washington Post — 12:11 am ET (0411 GMT)
SpaceX to re-launch rocket from Cape Canaveral this year
Florida Today — 12:09 am ET (0409 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list