spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Voyager on outskirts of the solar system
Posted: Tue, Dec 4, 2012, 5:42 AM ET (1042 GMT)
Voyager illustration (NASA/JPL) NASA's Voyager 1 spacecraft has yet to exit the solar system but has instead a previously unknown zone near its boundary, project scientists said Monday. The spacecraft, launched in 1977 and now about 18 billion kilometers from the Sun, has been nearing the heliopause, the boundary between the Sun's magnetic field and interstellar space. Instruments on the spacecraft have detected particles form interstellar space, but the magnetic field lines have not changed direction. Scientists believe that the spacecraft has entered a region they call the "magnetic highway" near the heliopause where magnetic field lines from the Sun connect with those from interstellar space, allowing for the transfer of particles observed by Voyager. Mission scientists speculate that Voyager 1 could finally pass the heliopause within the next couple of years, and perhaps within several months.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 fails on cargo mission to ISS
Posted: Sun, Jun 28 3:24 PM ET (1924 GMT)

OneWeb announces $500 million in funding, launch contracts
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

China launches Earth imaging satellite
Posted: Sat, Jun 27 9:54 AM ET (1354 GMT)

news links
Monday, June 29
The aftermath of a launch failure
The Space Review — 5:10 pm ET (2110 GMT)
Untangling the knot: fix Congress, pioneer space
The Space Review — 5:08 pm ET (2108 GMT)
Way out there in The Black: orbiting Pluto
The Space Review — 5:07 pm ET (2107 GMT)
Review: The Nazis Next Door
The Space Review — 5:06 pm ET (2106 GMT)
How We’ll Live on Mars by Stephen Petranek
Sunday Times of London — 5:54 am ET (0954 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list