spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

AD: H2M 2015

SpaceX wins first EELV-class launch contracts from Air Force
Posted: Thu, Dec 6, 2012, 5:48 AM ET (1048 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of 1st Dragon spacecraft (NASA/KSC) SpaceX won contracts this week from the US Air Force for the launch of two satellites, breaking the lock on such deals held by United Launch Alliance. Under the contracts, SpaceX will launch the Deep Space Climate Observatory (DSCOVR) satellite on a Falcon 9 in late 2014 and the Space Test Program 2 (STP-2) payload on a Falcon Heavy rocket in mid-2015, both from Cape Canaveral. The awards are part of an effort by the military to stimulate competition in the Evolved Expendable Launch Vehicle (EELV) program by supporting new entrants like SpaceX with awards for lower-priority missions like DSCOVR and STP-2. All EELV launches to date have been performed by the Atlas 5 and Delta 4 rockets provided by ULA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Soyuz launches Galileo navigation satellites
Posted: Sat, Mar 28 6:55 AM ET (1055 GMT)

New crew arrives at ISS
Posted: Sat, Mar 28 6:45 AM ET (1045 GMT)

Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:10 PM ET (1810 GMT)

news links
Sunday, March 29
NASA’s “flying saucer” prepares for another spin
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:27 am ET (1227 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list