spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Company unveils plans for commercial human lunar missions
Posted: Fri, Dec 7, 2012, 6:35 AM ET (1135 GMT)
Golden Spike lander illustration (Golden Spike Co.) A startup company announced Thursday it plans to offer human missions to the surface of the Moon as soon as the end of this decade for $1.5 billion a trip. Golden Spike said it has developed mission architectures that make use of existing launch vehicles and spacecraft, along with newly-designed landers and other components, that can be developed for $7-8 billion and start flying by 2020. The company, which said it is still in its earliest stages, is primarily focused on national space agencies, but also expects interest from individuals or companies. The company has attracted a wide range of experienced directors and advisors, but said reports it had lined up billionaire investors were incorrect.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Falcon 9 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:20 AM ET (1120 GMT)

Astronauts wrap up series of ISS spacewalks
Posted: Mon, Mar 2 6:11 AM ET (1111 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Feb 28 8:19 AM ET (1319 GMT)

news links
Monday, March 2
What are those bright spots? As Dawn nears Ceres, mystery remains
Los Angeles Times — 7:31 pm ET (0031 GMT)
NASA test director was "go" for launch, then beans
Florida Today — 7:27 pm ET (0027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list