spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Astronomer Sir Patrick Moore passes away
Posted: Tue, Dec 11, 2012, 6:00 AM ET (1100 GMT)
Sir Patrick Moore, a British amateur astronomer who hosted a BBC show on astronomy for over half a century, passed away Sunday at the age of 89. Moore is best known as the host of the BBC TV program "The Sky at Night" starting in 1957, missing only a single episode, due to illness, over the course of more than 50 years. Moore was also an author and active observer, creating maps of the Moon that were reportedly used by NASA during the race to the Moon in the 1960s.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 27
Here Comes the Furious Sun
Univ. of California Riverside — 7:50 pm ET (2350 GMT)
Ariane 5’s second launch of 2015
ESA — 7:45 pm ET (2345 GMT)
NASA’s LDSD ‘UFO’ readied for its second flight
SpaceFlight Insider — 7:44 pm ET (2344 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list