spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas launches X-37B on third mission
Posted: Wed, Dec 12, 2012, 6:09 AM ET (1109 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of OTV-3 (ULA) An Atlas V successfully launched on Tuesday a classified military spaceplane. The Atlas 5 501 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 1:03 pm EST (1803 GMT) carrying an X-37B on the Orbital Test Vehicle 3 (OTV-3) mission. The launch, which took place despite forecasts that called for only a 30 percent chance of acceptable weather at launch time, was declared a success by the Air Force, although it released few other details about the mission. The launch is the seconde for this particular X-37B, which first flew in space on the OTV-1 mission in 2010. The Air Force has not disclosed the missions of any of the three X-37B missions, leading to speculation that the vehicles are performing roles range from technology demonstration to reconnaissance.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two broadcasting satellites
Posted: Thu, May 28 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)

Air Force certifies SpaceX for military launches
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:29 AM ET (1429 GMT)

NASA selects instruments for Europa mission
Posted: Wed, May 27 10:24 AM ET (1424 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 28
UAE enters planet hope
Gulf Today — 8:07 pm ET (0007 GMT)
Coast is Clear! No Deadly Debris Seen in Pluto Flyby Path
Discovery.com — 8:07 pm ET (0007 GMT)
It's Crater-palooza on Dwarf Planet Ceres
SPACE.com — 8:06 pm ET (0006 GMT)
Latest LORRI images of Pluto show increased contrast and detail
SpaceFlight Insider — 8:00 pm ET (0000 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list