spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Twin NASA spacecraft to crash into the Moon on Monday
Posted: Fri, Dec 14, 2012, 6:59 AM ET (1159 GMT)
GRAIL illustration (NASA) Two NASA spacecraft that have been studying the Moon's gravitational field since the beginning of the year will end their mission by crashing into the lunar surface on Monday. The twin Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) spacecraft, dubbed "Ebb" and "Flow", will crash into a mountain in the Moon's northern polar regions at 5:29 pm EST (2229 GMT) Monday, the two impacts taking place 20 seconds apart. The spacecraft are running low on propellant needed to maintain their orbits, and the controlled crash is to ensure that the spacecraft don't instead hit one of the "heritage" sites elsewhere on the Moon associated with Apollo and other past missions. The impact site will be in shadow at the time of the impacts and thus no visible phenomena are expected. The two spacecraft, which entered lunar orbit at the beginning of 2012, have provided scientists with the best map yet of the Moon's gravity field, which in turn has provided insights on the Moon's interior structure.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Delta 2 SMAP launch postponed to Saturday
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:19 AM ET (1119 GMT)

Air Forces cancels competition for EELV-class launch
Posted: Fri, Jan 30 6:10 AM ET (1110 GMT)

Winds postpone Delta 2 launch a day
Posted: Thu, Jan 29 8:37 PM ET (0137 GMT)

news links
Friday, January 30
GenCorp Reports 2014 Fourth Quarter and Annual Results
Aerojet Rocketdyne — 8:37 pm ET (0137 GMT)
This is the Drone Helicopter NASA Scientists Want to Send to Mars
Popular Mechanics — 8:35 pm ET (0135 GMT)
GenCorp records profit in fourth quarter; sales decline
Sacramento Bee — 8:34 pm ET (0134 GMT)
Mars invasion is coming to UH
Univ. of Houston Daily Cougar — 8:33 pm ET (0133 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list