spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

ESA, NASA agree on ATV-based service module for Orion
Posted: Thu, Jan 17, 2013, 5:05 AM ET (1005 GMT)
Orion with ATV-based service module (ESA) NASA and ESA formally announced Wednesday that Europe will develop a service module for at least one Orion mission based on the ATV cargo spacecraft. The service module for the EM-1 Orion mission, an uncrewed launch on the first Space Launch System (SLS) launch planned for 2017, will be built by Europe. The module will be based on the Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) cargo spacecraft Europe currently provides for taking cargo to the ISS, and this service module will take the place of ATV missions later this decade. The Orion crew module, interface adapters, and rocket engine will remain the responsibility of NASA, and no decision has been made on using the ATV-based service module for later Orion missions. European officials had previously agreed at a meeting last November to develop the Orion service module.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Inaugural launch of Angara 5 rocket successful
Posted: Wed, Dec 24 11:05 AM ET (1605 GMT)

Head of German space agency to take over ESA
Posted: Wed, Dec 24 10:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)

Venus Express ends mission
Posted: Wed, Dec 24 10:24 AM ET (1524 GMT)

news links
Thursday, December 25
Russia puts new military comsat into orbit
Russia Today — 9:27 am ET (1427 GMT)
NASA’s MAVEN charts a disappearing Martian atmosphere
Ars Technica — 9:26 am ET (1426 GMT)
1968: Daddy's gone to the moon for Christmas
Mashable — 9:25 am ET (1425 GMT)
Follow the Methane!
Air & Space — 9:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list