spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Arabsat orders new satellite
Posted: Mon, Jan 21, 2013, 7:05 AM ET (1205 GMT)
Middle Eastern satellite operator Arabsat announced Saturday it has ordered a new communications satellite to be built and launched by European companies. Badr-7 (also known as Arabsat-6B), the first in a sixth generation of Arabsat satellites, will be built jointly by EADS Astrium and Thales Alenia Space. Astrium will provide the satellite bus, based on the Eurostar E3000 model, and Thales will provide the communications payload. Badr-7 will launch on an Ariane 5 in late 2015 under terms of a separate contract with Arianespace. The 6,100-kilogram satellite will be located at 26 degrees east in GEO, providing Ku- and Ka-band communications services for the Middle East and surrounding regions. The contracts have a combined value of $400 million.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:10 PM ET (1810 GMT)

Dnepr launches South Korean satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 1:50 PM ET (1750 GMT)

Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 26 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

news links
Friday, March 27
Soyuz TMA-16M kicks off historic one year expedition
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Arianespace Soyuz ST-B ready for Galileo duo launch
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)
Soon, Humans Will Follow Robots Into Deep Space
Wired News — 4:45 pm ET (2045 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list