spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Study suggests Earth-sized planets may be nearby
Posted: Thu, Feb 7, 2013, 5:34 AM ET (1034 GMT)
Earth-like world orbiting red dwarf illustration (CfA) A new study based on data from NASA's Kepler mission concludes that Earth-sized planets around red dwarf stars may be relatively common, suggesting such worlds could be relatively near our own. The work by Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics researchers, announced Wednesday and published in the Astrophysical Journal, looked for potential planets orbiting red dwarf stars in the field observed by Kepler. Statistical analysis led astronomers to conclude that six percent of red dwarf stars have Earth-sized planets orbiting them. Since red dwarfs are the most common type of stars, constituting three quarters of the stars in our galaxy, astronomers said that Earth-sized planets should be relatively close to us, potentially within 13 light-years. Earth-sized planets would be easier to study orbiting red dwarfs, given the smaller, dimmer nature of those stars.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Japan launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 2:10 PM ET (1810 GMT)

Dnepr launches South Korean satellite
Posted: Fri, Mar 27 1:50 PM ET (1750 GMT)

Delta 4 launches GPS satellite
Posted: Thu, Mar 26 7:37 AM ET (1137 GMT)

news links
Friday, March 27
ESA’s spaceplane back on dry land
ESA — 4:53 pm ET (2053 GMT)
Soyuz TMA-16M kicks off historic one year expedition
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:47 pm ET (2047 GMT)
Arianespace Soyuz ST-B ready for Galileo duo launch
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:46 pm ET (2046 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list