spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

Soyuz launches Globalstar satellites
Posted: Thu, Feb 7, 2013, 5:43 AM ET (1043 GMT)
Soyuz launch of 4th group of Globalstar next-gen satellites (Arianespace) A Soyuz rocket successfully launched a final group of six next-generation satellites for communications satellite company Globalstar on Wednesday. The Soyuz-Fregat rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 11:04 am EST (1604 GMT) and released the six Globalstar satellites into orbit about one hour and 40 minutes later. the launch was originally scheduled for Tuesday but postponed a day because of gusty upper-level winds. the satellites, weighing 650 kilograms each and built by Thales Alenia Space, join 18 others launched on three previous Soyuz launches in 2010 and 2011. Combined, they reconstitute the Globalstar system, allowing the company to resume satellite phone services that were disrupted as the original Globalstar satellites, launched from 1998 to 2000, suffered equipment malfunctions.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list