spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Ariane launches two communications satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 8, 2013, 5:59 AM ET (1059 GMT)
Ariane 5 launch Amazonas-3 and Azerspace/Africasat-1a (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 rocket launched a pair of communications satellites on Thursday for customers in Spain and Azerbaijan. The Ariane 5 ECA rocket lifted off from Kourou, French Guiana, at 4:36 pm EST (2136 GMT) Thursday and released the Amazonas-3 and Azerspace/Africasat-1a satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half-hour later. Amazonas-3, a 6,265-kilogram satellite built by Space Systems/Loral for Spanish operator Hispasat, will provide C-, Ka-, and Ku-band communications services for Europe, the Americas, and North Africa. Azerspace/Africasat-1a, a 3,000-kilogram satellite built by Orbital Sciences Corporation for Azercosmos 0JSC and the Azerbaijan government, will provide services for Azerbaijan, Central Asia, the Middle East, Europe, and Africa. The launch is the first of six Ariane missions planned for 2013.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

Control of Russian research satellite restored
Posted: Sun, Jul 27 2:07 PM ET (1807 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 30
United Launch Alliance launches trio of defense satellites
Denver Business Journal — 7:05 am ET (1105 GMT)
Aerojet Rocketdyne part of space 'neighborhood watch' satellite mission
Sacramento Business Journal — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Virgin vows to fly for first time later this year
Albuquerque Business First — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Virgin Galactic moves toward spaceflight
KRQE-TV Albuquerque, NM — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Ottawa native shortlisted for one-way trip to Mars
Metro Canada — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list