spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Small asteroid to fly past the Earth
Posted: Fri, Feb 15, 2013, 6:28 AM ET (1128 GMT)
2012 DA14 flyby illustration (NASA) A small asteroid will pass closer to the Earth Friday than many satellites, but does not pose an impact threat to the Earth. Asteroid 2012 DA14 will pass about 27,600 kilometers above the Earth's surface on Friday at 2:25 pm EST (1925 GMT). That brings it closer to the Earth than satellites in geosynchronous orbit (GEO), but the asteroid's trajectory will not take it through the GEO ring and will not come within 1,000 kilometers of any satellite. The asteroid also poses no impact risk to the Earth. Scientists do plan to use the flyby to closely study an asteroid and refine their techniques for tracking near Earth objects.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA delays launch of Mars InSight lander
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:12 PM ET (2312 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches ORBCOMM satellites and lands first stage
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 6:03 PM ET (2303 GMT)

NASA astronauts complete brief ISS repair spacewalk
Posted: Thu, Dec 24 5:55 PM ET (2255 GMT)

news links
Monday, February 8
Super Bowl 50 Has Some Surprising Space Twists
SPACE.com — 4:55 am ET (0955 GMT)
Astronaut Edgar Mitchell: A legacy of research and moon walking
Christian Science Monitor — 4:53 am ET (0953 GMT)
SES-9 Launch Targeting Late February
SES — 4:42 am ET (0942 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list