spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews

PSLV launches seven satellites
Posted: Mon, Feb 25, 2013, 7:33 PM ET (0033 GMT)
PSLV launch of SARAL (ISRO) An Indian rocket successfully launched seven satellites on Monday, including a small satellite to look for near Earth objects and an experimental "phonesat". The PSLV lifted off from India's Satish Dhawan Space Centre at 7:31 am EST (1231 GMT, 6:01 pm local time) Monday and placed its payload of seven satellites into Sun-synchronous orbits. The rocket's primary payload was SARAL, a 409-kilogram Indo-French satellite designed to perform oceanographic and meteorological research. The rocket also carried six secondary payloads, including the Canadian satellites Sapphire and NEOSSat, which will perform space situational awareness and near Earth object searches, respectively. The other four satellites were nanosatelltes designed for astronomy and technology demonstration, including the British STRaND-1 satellite, whose systems are based on smartphone technology.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Hubble finds potential KBO targets for New Horizons
Posted: Mon, Oct 20 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

X-37B lands in California
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

MIT professor nominated to become NASA deputy administrator
Posted: Sat, Oct 18 9:07 AM ET (1307 GMT)

news links
Monday, October 20
Astronomers get unprecedented view of comet swinging past Mars
Australian Broadcasting Corporation — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
Soil Moisture Satellite Arrives At Vandenberg Air Force Base
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 7:56 pm ET (2356 GMT)
NASA Astronaut to speak at Nolan Ryan Junior High
Pearland (TX) Journal — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
Space launch will reward efforts at GSCC
Gadsden (AL) Times — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)
I’m safe and sound, tweets MOM after comet sighting
The Hindu — 7:54 pm ET (2354 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list