spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Columbia finally rolls out to launch pad
Posted: Tue, Jan 29, 2002, 8:55 AM ET (1355 GMT)
STS-109 rollout of Columbia to pad 39A The space shuttle Columbia rolled out to the launch pad on Monday after crawler problems delayed the move for nearly a week. The shuttle left the Vehicle Assembly Building shortly after 6:30 am EST (1130 GMT) Monday and arrived at the pad about six hours later. The rollout had been scheduled for last Wednesday, but was delayed when the crawler transporter that hauls the shuttle to the pad malfunctioned shortly after beginning the trip. Despite the delay, Columbia is still scheduled to launch on mission STS-109, a servicing mission to the Hubble Space Telescope, on the morning of February 28. The rollout took place on the 16th anniversary of the space shuttle Challenger tragedy.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Kepler goes into safe mode as fuel runs low
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:43 AM ET (1343 GMT)

Inmarsat rejets EcoStar takeover bid
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)

Shuttle-era engine tested for DARPA spaceplane
Posted: Sun, Jul 8 9:41 AM ET (1341 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, August 14
Why we’re heading for an armed space race
The National (Scotland) — 3:19 am ET (0719 GMT)
Ghana is looking to outer space. It needs the law to match
The Conversation — 3:16 am ET (0716 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list