spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


STS-98 countdown proceeds smoothly
Posted: Wed, Feb 7, 2001, 9:15 AM ET (1415 GMT)
STS-98 mission patch The countdown towards Wednesday evening's launch of the shuttle Atlantis continues with weather at emergency landing sites the only major concern. The shuttle is scheduled to lift off on mission STS-98 at 6:11 pm EST (2311 GMT) to deliver the Destiny laboratory module to the International Space Station. There are no technical issues that could stop the countdown and there is an 90 percent forecast of acceptable launch weather at the Kennedy Space Center. The only concern is with uncertain weather at transatlantic abort landing sites in Spain and Morocco: at least one of the three sites must have acceptable weather to permit a launch. If the launch is delayed a day, weather should improve at those sites and remain good at KSC.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches two navigation satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:44 PM ET (2244 GMT)

Arianespace plans a record number of launches in 2018
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:43 PM ET (2243 GMT)

Orbital ATK wins Galaxy 30 order
Posted: Sun, Jan 14 5:42 PM ET (2242 GMT)

news links
Thursday, January 18
First ICEYE-X1 Radar Image from Space Published
PR Newswire — 5:37 am ET (1037 GMT)
U.S. missile-deterrence to get upgrade from Florida launch
Orlando Sentinel — 5:31 am ET (1031 GMT)
Iridium confident NEXT will remain on track; all eyes on Falcon Heavy
Runway Girl Network — 5:28 am ET (1028 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list